Skip to content

Recap: A’s @ Angels Game 37

May 15, 2012

A short two-game set for the A’s in Orange County and with today’s 4-0 loss it ends up in a split. A strange 4:05PM start time left me unable to attend the game, and MLB’s wonderful blackout restrictions left me unable to watch it. But nonetheless, here is a quick recap of some key stats and events.

  • Today’s loss really falls both on the A’s offensive woes and Ervin Santana pitching very well for the Angels (seven and two-thirds innings, of four hit, three walk, nine strikeout shutout ball). A’s hitters hit a combined .217 (5-for-32) in this one with a whopping 11 strikeouts and leaving eight ducks on the pond. Seth Smith hitting cleanup and playing left field was perhaps the worst offender going 0-for-3 with two K’s and leaving four men stranded.
  • Kila Ka’aihue back in the lineup and playing designated hitter after some injury issues went 1-for-4 with two K’s, his lone hit being his eighth double of the year to up his batting line to .289/.349/.434 with a .317 wOBA and 102 wRC+. While far from stellar, with a 1-for-4 day Daric Barton just is at .185/.305/.284 with a .221 wOBA and 36 wRC+. With a roster crunch coming up one has to wonder if Barton could finally be optioned to Sacramento?
  • In other “news” the struggling Jemile Weeks went 1-for-4, – and added his American League leading 10th stolen base of the year – to raise his batting average to .200.
  • While the offense struggled, including a pathetic 0-for-9 with runners in scoring position, the pitching performed satisfactorily. Bartolo Colon went six and two-thirds innings and while he was tagged for twelve hits, he allowed just four earned runs. Colon did not walk anyone, and struck out three while he surrendered a home run to rookie sensation Mike Trout and his third home run on the year. Jerry Blevins was brought into the game to get one out which he did and Andrew Carignan pitched an inning walking just one and otherwise allowing no base runners.
2 Comments leave one →
  1. Dangerous Dean permalink
    May 16, 2012 8:55 am

    I HATE the MLB’s blackout policy. I heard that some lawyers were challenging it, but are likely to fail.

    I would gladly pay MLBTV.com for a full season if I could watch my Rangers on my computer. But since I am too close to Houston, I am not able to.

    Keep up the good work.

    • May 16, 2012 10:33 am

      Thanks!

      I’m not entirely clear on the economics of it. But I’d be willing to pay a premium to get “blacked out” games. Furthermore, I assume these networks that broadcast them make most of their money through advertising. So show me the local advertising then if need be instead of the blue:”Commercials In Progress” screen. Use my higher fee to pay cable companies or whatever. I can’t complain that much though, when I lived in Ohio, we were blacked out of Pirates games, yet had cable (my not having it is only temporary right now as I wait for my wife to join me in California) and no method of watching the Pirates. We were blacked out of the Reds and Indians but whatever you could turn on the TV and see them. But the A’s had a series against Pittsburgh that I had no method of watching, yet was blacked out from. That sort of crap is ludicrous.

Leave a Reply

