Skip to content

Could the A’s Next Third Baseman Be a New Free Agent?

March 26, 2012

Conor Jackson was released by the Texas Rangrrs today towards the end of their Cactus League schedule. Jackson spent 2011 with the A’s  mostly in a first base/fifth outfielder type role. Jackson hit .244/.310/.341 across 390 plate appearances with both the A’s and Red Sox last year where he was sent in exchange for Jason Rice at the end of August. Jackson was worth -0.1 WAR in 2011 and had a disappointing .292 wOBA and 83 wRC+. What should alarm A’s fans however is that Bob Melvin remains a big fan of Jackson’s. When I interviewed him and asked him why he was so enamored of a player who performed so poorly he said,

“Conor’s been with me for a while he was with me in Arizona and here and he knows what I’m all about – he is an example setter when he goes out there. I think if you really look, Conor after his sickness and some injuries never really got the momentum going like he had earlier in his career. It really was kind of a setback for him. If you look at his numbers in the second half last year until Brandon Allen got there it really looked like he was on the upswing to where he was starting to replicate some of his numbers from previous years. I just think it took him a while to get over one: the illness and two: some injuries and three: all of the sudden not being a starter anymore and having to deal with a different role. Conor brings a lot of intangibles.”

Jackson has played nine games at third base in his career – six of them last year in Oakland. The A’s have a possible hole at third and one has to worry that Jackson could be that very solution.

23 Comments leave one →
  1. Kasper & Ghosts permalink
    March 27, 2012 2:28 am

    I was never happy with conor jackson. plus his attitude when leaving oakland turned me against him even more.

    Third baseman is huge problem since eric chavez was here.. it seems like a curse for us. Without scotty sizemore we are screwed . We got creative and lucky getting sizemore. We need the same idea this year.

    because i dont see donaldson or sogard being a solution

    • March 27, 2012 1:40 pm

      I never had a problem with him having an attitude or anything. I had a problem with him just not being particularly good! I still am holding out faith that Donaldson can put together a decent season. I liked Sizemore a lot, I thought he was going to have a breakout year.

  2. dKim permalink
    March 27, 2012 11:50 am

    No please…
    I think Sogard should start the year at the hot corner.
    Rosales should be the sub for SS & 2nd.
    Donaldson should split time between backing up Sogard and Zuk.
    This way they’ll all get playing time and we can keep an extra OF bench player.

    • March 27, 2012 1:41 pm

      I’m not seeing why we can’t just rid ourselves of Rosales? I wouldn’t be shocked if he could pass through waivers and if he didn’t. So what?

      • dKim permalink
        March 27, 2012 1:52 pm

        I’m as unimpressed w/ Rosales as the next guy. I just figured since he’ll be in the mix, I’d put him in. I’d rather see Timmons play. Maybe it’s the fact that I’m 32 and thinking that a guy my age can break into the show at this age.

      • March 27, 2012 7:59 pm

        I don’t see why he has to be in the mix, especially being above league minimum for what exactly? I’d like to see Timmons get a shot, but frankly I am kind of fine with Donaldson and seeing how far we can ride him. If he falls flat, he falls flat, but I think he could be a decent ballplayer. I’m 31 in two weeks, and isn’t it shocking how old baseball can make you feel? On the A’s 40-man roster only Grant Balfour, Coco Crisp, Brian Fuentes and Jonny Gomes are older than me.

  3. Hungary4A'sNews permalink
    March 27, 2012 1:10 pm

    Thanks for the previous reports…hard to get those pre-season box scores from Japan.
    Got to say…enjoyed your last line in this KOJAK report!

  4. Hungary4A'sNews permalink
    March 27, 2012 1:15 pm

    Ooops! forgot to mention that I think you could bottle the same sentiment about an ex-A
    if you mentioned: Jack Cust was released by the Astros *true

  5. Don T permalink
    March 27, 2012 2:48 pm

    I like Bob Melvin as the A’s manager and I like his attitude about winning sooner rather than later. But I was disappointed with his positive comments about Conor Jackson. Jackson never performed for the A’s and apparently not for the Red Sox or Rangers either. Sure he put up some nice numbers a few years ago but that ship has sailed. I like the way Eric Sogard is playing right now and he deserves a shot but his numbers last season were pretty weak. Third base looks to continue to be a problem position for the A’s for this season if not beyond. And Rosales need to go away, another player that never was great and peaked a long time ago. Can’t believe he’s still on the roster. I’m not optimistic about Jonny Gomes either, based on his poor 2011 season and his age. Not a player with much upside in my opinion but hope I’m wrong.

    • March 27, 2012 8:01 pm

      Yeah, the positive comments hopefully are residuals from his time in Arizona. I am sure he is a good guy, etc but what matters to a degree is production. I don’t see anyone getting better through some transferred osmosis type thing. I thought last year might have been the year valley fever was out of his system but it seems the valley fever may have triggered a permanent decline. I think Sogard is best suited as an infield replacement, not a corner infielder and would like to give Donaldson a shot, but currently no one has gone out and really won that spot. Its funny in the comment before this I commented about Gomes’ age, he is closest in age to me (he being about five months older than me), its sad to think that I am entering my decline phase too 😉

  6. EddieVegas_NRAF permalink
    March 27, 2012 3:27 pm

    There aren’t many veteran third basemen available on a short-term deal. Is Jackson as appealing than Tejada? Renteria? Should the A’s attempt to get Mark Teahen from the Blue Jays?

    I don’t think Jackson has the experience, ability, endurance or plain dumb luck to hold down the hot corner for an entire season. I expect the A’s will throw Sogard and Rosales at it and hope against hope that they don’t flat our stink, but just emit an annoying odor.

    • EddieVegas_NRAF permalink
      March 27, 2012 3:31 pm

      My bad: Teahen is with the Nats on a minor-league deal.

      • March 27, 2012 8:02 pm

        Teahen was one of the Moneyball vaunted OBP guys. Never panned out really.

    • March 27, 2012 8:02 pm

      Casey Blake could be an option now as my newest post talks about…

  7. Hungary4A'sNews permalink
    March 27, 2012 3:53 pm

    Wow great posts here!

    Looks like Sogard to me…but soon final spring cuts..so ..we will see.

    a band-aid solution may be OK

    What about if KC discards …wait for it….

    Kouzmanoff.. definately was a good guy in community .
    Comments?

    • March 27, 2012 8:03 pm

      I wouldn’t want Kouzmanoff. He just hacks and hacks and that isn’t the brand of baseball I enjoy watching. But I still hold out some hope (perhaps misplaced) that Donaldson ends up as the guy at third.

  8. Kasper & Ghosts permalink
    March 27, 2012 7:02 pm

    Kouzmanoff was ugly at times. But I enjoyed him on our team. And now I miss him even more..

    • March 27, 2012 8:05 pm

      I’m not with you there at all, as a quick glance of the Kouzmanoff tag on this site will tell you. But… I will say, from all I heard he was a great guy with fans, etc so I wish him the best of luck.

      • Kasper & Ghosts permalink
        March 27, 2012 8:13 pm

        He was great with fans and a nice guy to me personally. Like Coco Crisp, stats sometimes don’t make a good personality in the club house.

        The anti-Manny Ramirez effect (if you will) .Chemistry can’t be counted in numbers. However the 2010 S.F Giants prove that it’s real.

      • March 27, 2012 8:17 pm

        I think it is good to have a “clubhouse” guy or two. I think the A’s have that covered. I think there is truth to there being an effect to a degree, but at the same time there is a difference between clubhouse guys who are great and have a long illustrious career, or who are putting up great numbers and then clubhouse guys who everyone likes stands up for etc, but don’t do much worth having and haven’t done much in their careers. To me Kouz falls into that latter group which means, he sort of ends up being kind of useless to this team.

Trackbacks

  1. Could the A’s Next Third Baseman Be a New Free Agent? « The Todd Van Poppel Rookie Card Retirement Plan

Leave a Reply

