Skip to content

Tejada Wants A’s, Do A’s Want Him?

February 29, 2012

This morning it was reported in The Drumbeat that because Scott Sizemore is destined to miss the 2012 campaign due to his torn ACL, Miguel Tejada would like to make his services available to the team he played for from 1997 through 2003. He said to Susan Slusser,

“Tell Billy [Beane] to give me a call. I don’t want big money. I just want to play.”

Tejada, a career .341 wOBA and 106 wRC+ hitter, with a .285/.336/.457 slash line spent last season in San Francisco. With the Giants he had a somewhat miserable season finishing at 0.0 WAR and being released before the season’s end. He claimed in his conversation with Slusser that it was because he wasn’t happy on the western side of San Francisco Bay, but that seems a pretty poor excuse for a professional ballplayer who succeeded less than ten miles to the east for years. Last year Tejada, at age 37, posted a .239/.270/.326 slash line with four home runs in 343 plate appearances. His .082 ISO was a career worst, as were his .270 OBP and .326 SLG so it is unclear what he is able to offer that is worthwhile to the A’s despite his willingness to accept a cheap deal. That said, while I don’t want him to be on this club at an above average salary if he got a minor-league deal a la Manny Ramirez and accepted the same amount of money and had to win a spot it is fair to say why not? That said, it seems he is firmly in the decline mode, as his 2010 season wasn’t that impressive either with just 0.9 WAR in time split between Baltimore and San Diego. I think the A’s have better options in the likes of Josh Donaldson and would hope they’d pursue them before finding a stopgap like Tejada for a player in Sizemore that many view as a stopgap himself, though I do not share in that belief. Regardless, thus far the A’s have shown no indication that they are interested at all in Tejada.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. February 29, 2012 7:22 pm

    Just saw this. Great name for an A’s blog.

  2. Kasper & Ghosts permalink
    March 1, 2012 12:42 am

    No way Josh Donaldson works out at third. We need to find a year long solution. It’s hard to see Tejada being productive anymore. Billy needs to get creative..

    • March 1, 2012 2:43 pm

      I think Donaldson could work out at third. Going from behind the plate to the field isn’t impossible, Craig Biggio of course started as a catcher, a more recent strong defender formerly behind the plate is Brandon Inge. I don’t think a lot needs to be done on this one, myself.

  3. The Eck permalink
    March 1, 2012 3:54 pm

    Miggy might be my all-time favorite Oakland Athletic. (He’s at least in the running with The Eck, Dave Stewart, Walt Weiss, Ricky, Terry Steinbach and Dave Revering.)

    While it’s pretty clear that Tejada has moved beyond the productive portion of his career, my nostalgic side makes it hard for me not to root for the A’s to re-sign him. The A’s do have a wonderful habit of bringing their players back to Oakland late in their careers.

    Of course, Josh Donaldson becoming a pleasant surprise would probably make all of us a lot happier. It’s just so hard to gauge what he’ll do this year. The range of possibilities — as with so many of the current A’s — seems very, very wide.

    • March 1, 2012 4:22 pm

      Miggy never was one of my favorites, not sure why though it wasn’t like I disliked him. I really want to see the next chapter in Oakland A’s baseball so I am rooting for Donaldson. If I am going feel-good, I think you need to go with Wes Timmons if only for how long he has stalled at Triple-A. He seems like a class act too from what I saw of him when I saw the River Cats play in Nashville last spring.

  4. Drew W permalink
    March 1, 2012 6:21 pm

    I think Donaldson could stick. I remember there were questions about Chavez being able to play 3b–Ron Washington coached him up and six gold gloves later, he’s with the Yankees, haha. Gallego can help Donaldson, his bat should be okay, and maybe the grounds crew can grow the grass a little longer on that side to slow things down a little. I’m pulling for him. I’d also like to see Timmons get his cup of coffee.

    • March 1, 2012 10:23 pm

      Yeah, I’m with you on both counts. Call me a Donaldson believer and someone who would love to see a guy who puts his dues in like Timmons get a shot after all this time.

Leave a Reply

