Skip to content

2011 Championship Series Preview

October 9, 2011

I am posting this today after the Tigers and Rangers already played the first game of their LCS, however I did in fact write it beforehand so already it is dated but I stand by my guesses!

Detroit Tigers vs. Texas Rangers

The Tigers outlasted the New York Yankees in five games, Tigers manager Jim Leyland avoided pitching Justin Verlander in the deciding fifth game and now he is ready to rock for the ALCS and that definitely works in the favor of the Tigers. The Rangers are no slouches and I admittedly have spent a season underestimating them but I like this Detroit team. They are solid all around and they are playing with an urgency that I don’t think Texas who has been in more cruise control mode has played with. That said the Rays may feel cruise control was more like a cruise missile being dispatched in a relatively bloodless four games. This series really will come down to C.J. Wilson and whether or not he can step up, I think he can’t. Detroit in six.

Milwaukee Brewers vs. St. Louis Cardinals

This is the first World Series rematch to take place outside of the World Series in baseball history, as it is a rematch of the 1982 World Series taking place in the 2011 NLCS. No one should bet against the Cardinals, but I will – again. This team has managed to surprise team after team, time after time – but I still can’t believe in this team. Perhaps it is my extreme disdain for Tony LaRussa? Shared with my admiration but equal-level of disdain that I have for Albert Pujols? Maybe it is because they are the Yankees of the Midwest, a relatively high-budget team with the accoutrements of a championship past? Maybe I am still mad that in 2006 this pathetic team won the World Series easily the least deserving champion of my lifetime? Perhaps it is because Buzz Bissinger loves this team for all the wrong reasons? I want Milwaukee to win. I want the first ever all-Great Lakes series since 1945 when the Tigers defeated the Cubs. That perhaps is reflected in this prediction, but I like Milwaukee in seven.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Dangerous Dean permalink
    October 9, 2011 11:51 pm

    You might be right. But I think the Rangers will win in 6.

    Don’t let your hatred of CJ cloud your judgement?

    • October 9, 2011 11:59 pm

      I think Detroit is a tough club. It is impossible to rid of one’s bias but it is possible to see it and acknowledge it. I think all the games will be close like Game One.

      I do indeed dislike CJ Wilson – and given his comments who can blame an A’s fan – but he is a heck of a pitcher.

  2. October 10, 2011 2:39 pm

    The pedant in could not resist the urge to point out that World Series rematches take place outside of the World Series every year (Giants v A’s and assorted other less interesting Interleague examples)
    This is the first post season World Series rematch outside of the World Series
    Sorry

    • October 10, 2011 3:01 pm

      You are completely correct. I wrote it poorly, I meant to say the first time in the non-World Series playoffs that a World Series rematch occurred but the way I wrote it certainly didn’t convey that point! I hope you got what I meant at least! Thanks for reading.

  3. elmaquino permalink
    October 17, 2011 10:00 pm

    Don’t like Pujols?!

Leave a Reply

